Gateway

Your Paranormal Site

HomePortalGalleryRegisterLog in

Share | 

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu; One of the Fastest Growing Martial Arts Comes to Elk Grove

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
PaulDaleRoberts

Number of posts : 1074
Registration date : 2009-05-17

PostSubject: Brazilian Jiu Jitsu; One of the Fastest Growing Martial Arts Comes to Elk Grove   Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:41 am

By Ann Olson-Dupire

I am sitting with Elk Grove resident Derek DiManno, owner of Waza Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.

Q: Tell me about your martial arts background
A: I started in wrestling when I was a kid about 9 or 10, all the way through high school, and into college at UC
Davis, but early in the season I decided to change paths. Then I finished school, did another two years at cal poly and when I moved back into Sacramento I started training in Jiu Jitsu with Ralph and Cesar Gracie.

Q: How did you get into Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ)?
A: Like many of the original BJJ practitioners, I saw Royce Gracie, a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu black belt, in the first Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) in 1993. I was amazed that a skinny, 175 lbs. man could defeat other martial artists nearly twice his size with relative ease. I had wrestled for many years in my youth and noticed that BJJ wasnít that much different from wrestling. After I quit wrestling at UC Davis, I felt there was a bit of a void. I still had the ďitchĒ to train and compete. After I finished grad school in 1996, I moved back to Sacramento and started looking for a BJJ school. The closest one was in Pleasant Hill (Gracie Systems), so I drove an hour and twenty minutes one way just to train there. Iíve been training ever since.

Q: What is your rank and how long did it take to achieve your status?
A: I am a second degree black belt. I started in 1996 and received my black belt in January of 2006.

Q: What are some of the titles you have held?